The highly imaginitively titled..Day One!

22nd December. To many (including myself) this may seem like an extremely odd day to decide to give up the booze. After all, we’re heading into what’s traditionally the booziest two weeks of the year here in the UK. And in my own personal world, a period where my already high consumption of alcohol would absolutely sky-rocket. I mean – Christmas day? The day when I can legitimately have booze with breakfast? Bring on the bucks fizz, darling, it’s got vitamin c in it for Christ’s sake…

But, you see, for about the last twelve months, I’ve been gently starting the process of becoming alcohol free. I’ve discovered the world of sober blogs, and been reading them avidly, on a daily basis. I’ve started downloading sober literature onto my kindle. I’ve even tried a couple of periods of not drinking – for nearly a month in July.

So here I am. I drank a huge amount last night, on a Monday night, just at home with my OH. I’d knocked back my first bottle of Sauvignon Blanc by about 7.30, just after we’d got the kids to bed. We then opened not one, but two bottles of red wine over the course of the evening. (John Hughes movie night – and why not?). And then at about midnight, we topped it off by opening an expensive bottle of fizz which I’d been given from work. So all in all, I probably consumed about 25 units. God, that looks horrific written down.

I feel quite rough this morning (“really??” I hear you cry.). And jaded. And, well, finally ready, I guess.

So let’s see how it goes. I’ve learned from the many sober blogs that I follow, that blogging through this can be incredibly helpful, so I’m going to treat you all to the various outpourings from my addled mind on a daily basis. You lucky souls. If anyone would like to join me, well the more the merrier. And if I can help or inspire anyone else on the way, then bonus.

I’m going to try writing a list of the many reasons I think going AF will improve my life later. I think I’m going to need something to refer back to at crisis points! Until then, I’ll mostly be eating vast quantities of toast, wrangling 3 small children, and beating myself over the head for being so bloody stupid last night. Urgh. Bleugh. Foolish Red.

5 thoughts on “The highly imaginitively titled..Day One!”

  1. Hi Red! Huge congrats on Day 1! Love your blog and am going to be one of your first subscribers, so please keep it up. I wouldn’t have made it to 9 months sober without blogging – it’s a great help. Big hugs, and Merru Christmas! SM x

    Like

  2. Hi Red! Huge congrats on Day 1! Love your blog and am going to be one of your first subscribers, so please keep it up. I wouldn’t have made it to 9 months sober without blogging – it’s a great help. Big hugs, and Merry Christmas! SM x

    Like

  3. Hello! I found your blog through SoberMummy. My day one (my millionth day one) is the same as yours, so today is day two. Let’s do this together. My blog is called A Dappled Path (annieuk101.wordpress.com). Annie x

    Like

    1. Hey Annie – lovely to hear from you, and yes, brilliant let’s do this together!!! I’ll check out your blog later (when I’m not supposed to be working 😉
      Good luck with Day 2
      Red xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

