Smelly cat

Or words to that effect.. So, the three little Redlets slept beautifully last night. Red, however, did not. This was in part due to time spent digesting the massive Singapore Udon/Prawn Toast mountain which I tried to cure the hangover with. (This never works and simply drags out said hangover. When will I learn? Oh, wait..that sounds familiar.. ). It was also possibly due to the nightsweats I suffered; a classic Red detox. But it was mainly due to my very poorly cat, who took up residence under the chest of drawers in my bedroom, and spent the night shuffling round in a dejected fashion and occasionally yowling at me.

Yesterday, I noticed the poor creature hadn’t eaten for over 24 hours, and was looking decidedly “peaky”. And he’d pulled a lot of fur out too. I took him to the vets, only to discover he had a massive abcess on his lower back, helpfully concealed under all the ginger fur. The vets were quite shocked at the size of it. And I started to add two and two together, and realised that the bastard thing must have been brewing for about 2 weeks. Poor, poor little sod.

Anyway – he had it lanced today back at the vets. They were still talking about it in wonder when I collected him; I think the entire staff had been and gawked at the unfortunate creature. All this got me feeling extremely guilty. I really should have noticed his decline, as looking back it was fairly obvious, but I was too busy having “fun”.

I also had to prepare said cat a place to recover on getting home, and this involved me moving the mountain of paperwork and “stuff” which had accumulated over the last 6 months or so. You know, that stuff that comes through the letterbox requiring action, and all the kids paintings that come home from pre-school, letters from school, severed dolls heads etc etc. It’s horrendous – it’s actually four separate heaps of crap and I’m slightly scared to start going through it for fear of what I’ll discover. Probably a map to some lost city, or a new strain of mold that will trigger the zombie apocalypse.

So. Upshot of all this is that I’m not good at taking responsibility for things/cats when I’m drinking. In fact I’m an out and out hassle-avoiding hoarder. And so I’m looking forward to getting some more Shit Done during this new period of sobriety. And also being a better pet-owner; for any animal lovers out there reading this, the cat is now safely back home, with a bag of antibiotics, and massive wound-drain. Oh, and my utility room now looks like something out of one of the more nightmarish Hieronymous Bosch paintings. Some may say this is a just revenge. I will be purchasing guilt-laden cat treats tomorrow..

Red xx

 

32 thoughts on “Smelly cat”

  1. Oh no! Your poor cat 😦 Hope he is on the mend soon. You are so funny! I too have the piles of crap you talk about. I can’t bear to throw anything away, including every single drawing the little guys does. It makes for a lot of clutter!! I bought a book called The Magic Art of Tidying or something like that. Needless to say, it’s all lovely in theory, but it takes a lot of time and motivation to apply. Who knows, maybe one day! Hope you survive these first few days of detox. Night sweats must be awful. Stay strong. A x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha oh now I feel so bad – I have to cherry pick some drawings and (ahem) “let the others go”. There’s so many. I’ve been thinking about buying that book, but I reckon I’ll just start with a damn good clean 😉 Red xx

      Like

  2. You are not alone – I too have PILES of unopened official looking envelopes taking up space we don’t have in our tiny kitchen. Ridiculous – on so many levels. Good luck with your Red detox. Stick with it x.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I dream of a day when I deal with home post/ incoming paperwork on a similarly efficient basis to the way I do at work! And also when I can stop hoarding. But one thing at a time..Maybe those can be my 2017 goals, lol Red xx

      Like

  3. You could hold an art viewing with the cat as arbitrator and each small Red gets to judge their siblings’ work… or is that a guarantee of all out war? No children here!! Or just claim that the cat, through a drug induced episode ruined all of the artwork but that means that all of the small artists now have the opportunity to create new masterpieces for Red’s kitchen. Just a thought. Keep the faith.

    Justonemore

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Smelly cat…by Regina Phalanges??? YES!

    I discovered my dog had a big ol’ butt abscess about a month ago so went through a similar thing. Poor little things! Glad the kit is healing up though!

    I wish you luck with your cleaning and organizing. I am a big fan of Hieronymous Bosch btw, his work, though nightmarish, is freaking awesome. So it can’t be that bad, right?? Your utility room is a work of art! 😉

    And I wish you a lovely sober weekend. It’s better that way! Soon the night sweats will dissipate and you’ll be right back on track.

    Xoxo

    Like

    1. Haha – yes, a work of art indeed, although shame it’s all blood and (yeuch, dare I say it) pus. No pun intended there ;-). And thankyou, I’m looking forward to a lovely sober weekend, feeling good – I wish you one too! Red xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi red – great post again. Keep them coming. I love reading them. Had a drinking dream recently and then a bit of a wobble – maybe just one more time – perhaps?!! Then a noooooo moment – re read my frightful list of horrors why I gave up last night – feeling strong again. Phew! How you doing? Keen to help in any way I can as you help me so much. Live the term – redlets! SFMlets just doesn’t have the same ring to it! Lots of love. SFM xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The list of horrors is a useful tool, I’m reading mine again straight after this!! So glad you’re feeling strong! Lovely to think that I help you in some way, thankyou for being there, lovely SFM! Love back, Red xx

      Like

  6. Hey Red, sorry I can’t feel too sorry for anything cat relation as our lovely mog pissed all over our much loved goose down (read expensive) duvet last night, moved to another spot in the bed, curled up and went back to sleep again. (Do hope your ‘bundle of fur’ is getting better though!)
    Hope you’re doing ok too, please don’t be afraid to post here even if you’re drinking, it’s all part of the sober boat show. Sometimes it takes a few false starts before it sticks! xxxxx

    Like

  7. Hey folks – confess it’s crept back in and I’m drinking again. Felt ok at first but I’m starting to feel pants again, building up to another attempt to knock it all on the head. I’ll write a proper post soon. Thanks for all thinking of me; means a lot!!! Red xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Red.. I’m jumping back on the grid today.. I’ve had enough of feeling rubbish! I’m even trying to set up a blog to keep me focused.. Keep writing.. There is so much support here and your honesty benefits folk like me more than you can imagine. SW11Mum xx

      Like

      1. Hey there SW11Mum! Thanks – I’ll jump back on with you I think, I’m feeling pants too!! Please send me a link to your blog when you’ve set it up, would love to read it. Red xx

        Like

  8. Jump back on the sober train Red – it’s so hard at the beginning – but you can so do it. You’re where I was last year I think. And I think (hope) I’ve cracked it this time….. with your help and the rest of the lovely sober blogosphere. (not complacent though – still get some cravings but way fewer – so I promise it will get easier). So I know you can also do it. Tell us where you’re at – so we can help. Love SFM xxx

    Like

  9. Yes please Red. I was thinking Robin to your Batman but not too sure where that analogy might go. I went to a birthday party yesterday in a pub on Dartmoor and the sun was shining. It was hard and tougher back at home but a few weeks ago I would have drunk more than the other 80 people there and continued into the evening at home and today would have been a fucking disaster so something of a victory today even though I felt exposed and awkward yesterday. So wanted a g&t!!!!!!

    Get writing girl.

    Justonemore

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I definitely need to be the apprentice side-kick, you can be Batman 🙂 Good work on remaining sober during the Dartmoor “do”. What is it about sunshine and wanting a drink? These associations are so damn hard to break. Red xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

