Roar

Good morning from the Red household! I’m upstairs hiding in bed, having my lie-in, after an interesting night involving vomiting 4-year-olds. Put it this way, I don’t think I’ll be wanting to eat sausages again for quite some time. I love my sleep at the moment, I could sleep for months, Rip Van Winkle-style. I’m hoping it’s mending the damage a bit, I just wish I could get more of it without the nightly interruptions from the Redlets. And without having to get up and do life, etc. If you could be prescribed anything at the start of sobriety, I think it should be a free-pass to two weeks away from any responsibilities, so you can juuuuust sleeeeeeep…

A few weeks ago, my 5 year old son was watching a program about kittens, and they used part of the Katy Perry song “Roar” in it. He loved it, and so I put the video on YouTube to let him hear the whole thing. Well, that was it. He was lost. His eyes like saucers, he turned to me at the end and said “Mummy, I like Katy Perry!!!” in a reverent tone. We must have watched the darned thing  at least once, every day since.

Now this sort of stuff is a little mainstream for my usual music taste, but its quite catchy, and I was struck by the fact that she’s presenting an image of a fairly strong independant woman in the video. Yes, there’s a knobhead boyfriend at the beginning, but he quickly gets binned off in favour of a life in the jungle in a wrecked aeroplane with a subdued tiger as a pet. The overriding message is one of power.

I like this. I want this for myself. It’s occurred to me that I don’t think I’ve ever felt powerful in the least. But in the last week or so, the words of that song are becoming a bit like an anthem for me. I would love to feel like she does, and the fact I’m finally fighting this addiction, turning around and flicking massive ‘v’s at the voice in my head that tells me I need a drink, waking up in the morning and beginning to feel a little bit proud of myself, that’s the first few faltering steps towards becoming strong.

All together now.. “cos I am a champion,  and you’re gonna hear me ROAAAAR!!”.

Day 14. Off for my coffee now. And maybe a full-body press-up or (ahem) two…

Red xx

 

 

17 thoughts on “Roar”

  1. I’m back in West London about to have an early night after my usual hike up the M5/4/40. I now also know what Lululemon is – too flash for me, although I have to have good trainers!! Have a great, puke-free Sunday.

    Justonemore

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also have good trainers. I got them for my birthday last year, and I’ve probably been running in them less than 10 times. Am hoping to improve on that soon!

      Fingers crossed, the puke was a one-off. Although as I’m typing this I can hear my eldest coughing. Please gawd don’t let it turn into one with, er, substance. .

      Have a good week in old London Town!! Hope the dinner goes well! Red xx

      Like

  2. Remember the ROAR when the wine witch or WOLFIE is whispering in you ear. I just spent a week with my friends from Chicago and was AMAZED at how much they drank and how quickly we had to end our sightseeing so they could get to a pub. Made me feel real sadness and pity for them.

    Like

    1. Gosh yes – it’s weird when the rose-tinted spectacles fall off and we see booze for the negative impacts it has!! What a shame your sightseeing got cut short.
      I shall try to remember to roar when I get any foolish over-romanticised notions of drinking 😉 Red xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

