Awash. But not with booze!!

Ahhh Christmas. Sober. I’ve done it.

If you’ve read the start of my blog, you’ll know I also made it through last Christmas sober, however I am a tiny bit further down the path this time, and it was a lot easier. Christmas Eve was possibly the best ever.. well, right up until about 10pm…

I shall set the scene. We’d watched The Snowman & The Snowdog, all snuggled up on the sofas with the Redlets, the woodburner crackling merrily, lights twinkling, and I felt just so bloody lucky to be exactly where I was, and so grateful for it too. We got the little ones settled into bed, and, for the first time in our lives, we both watched It’s A Wonderful Life. Mr Red was even drinking AF beer, in a show of solidarity with me. As the credits rolled, and I wiped a happy tear from my cheek, we suddenly became aware of a strange coughing and banshee-esque wailing coming from upstairs..

I apologise in advance if you’re polishing off your festive left-overs whilst reading this, but I’m about to get a little graphic. We raced upstairs to discover our daughter re-enacting what appeared to be a scene from The Exorcist. It was everywhere. Meanwhile, as we flapped about like headless chickens, from the next room I could hear No. 1 Son starting to wail about feeling sick. We’d just managed to clean up the girlie, when I had to perform a mad-dash rescue of him from his top bunk, whilst roaring “puke on the rug – yes it’s ok – on the rug not on the wool carpet!!!”. We’d managed to then clean him up, corralled them both into our bed with buckets, when Mr Red raced off and started driving the porcelain bus. Oh yes, all three of them were at it, repeatedly, and for quite a sustained period of time. It was like a scene from the Crimean War, with me as a rather less than saintly Florence Nightingale, running around emptying buckets, swearing under my breath and performing exorcisms on the aforementioned rug.

So – as you can probably gather, it’s been a subdued, less than magical experience. The hurling has finally abated, and Christmas did eventually happen  (a very frazzled Mother Christmas did her deliveries at about 2.30am,  smelling strongly and, dare I say, festively of pine disinfectant).

This is all less than ideal, obviously. Not what I’ve had pictured in my mind for the last month. But – hooray – I was sober. And (fairly) fresh, with my wits about me, and able to look after my poor, ill family with a clear head and in a reasonably cheerful fashion. And I was able to enjoy the good parts of the last few days too, without the spirit-crushing hangover. This would not have been the case if I’d been Old Drinking Red. Oh noooo.

I do hope you’ve all had a much less vomitty festive season than we have here.  I’m on Day 45, and I’m looking forward to the New Years Eve celebrations with a glittery, alcohol-free glass in my hand! And no puke. Please thankyou.

Red xx

 

30 thoughts on “Awash. But not with booze!!”

  1. Oh my word Red that sounds horrendous! That’s always the way isn’t it? Sick bugs strike at the worst times. Glad you had buckets to hand and hope you had loads of linen? My son got a sick bug on a flight to South Africa. He was sitting on my lap and could see he was about to get sick so I turned him around so he was facing me. I had to take one for the team. (In fact more than one I took a couple for the team) Couldn’t very well let him vomit all over the passenger in front of us. As luck would have it I took spare clothing for the children but not for me. So I smelt less that fresh when we arrived. I think you and your family might have now had your quota of sick bugs for the year. Here’s to a vomit and hangover free New Year.xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We had that exact scenario one year when I was still drinking. My kids didn’t even get up Christmas morning to open gifts.
    It was a nightmare.

    I hope you never have that experience again!

    Like

  3. Hi Red
    Firstly congrats on your sober Christmas. Sorry to hear about the vomming – but how much easier are these times to cope with sober (sorry that’s a poorly constructed sentence!) I have sick sfmlet at the mo – who has been sat whinging on me for the last 2 hrs. I’ve finally managed to get her to off to sleep! Interestingly and slightly annoyingly I’ve been having more drinking thoughts in the past few days. I think it’s due to the fact that I’m in our usual holiday location where I’ve usually drank loads!! They’re not cravings as such, as I know I’m not going back to the hell of day 1, I think it’s a mixture of nostalgia and slight boredom. In some ways good to be kept on my toes – I’m having to draw on my ‘sober toolbox’ which is a good thing – don’t want to get complacent and let my guard down. Anyway here’s to all of us getting through the new year – I know we can do it. Lots of love xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear! I hope the little SFMlet is better soon, for both your sakes. It’s weird about the cravings and when they hit isn’t it? For me, I think it’s about breaking past habits and my brain seems to trot off down the standard neural pathways when Im in situations and places whete I would have bedn drinking. I need to divert it, form new non-drinking memories. It’s so annoying when thoughts of badness creep in, even if you’ve no intention of doing it, they are pesky annoyances! I fell at NYE last year, due to peer pressure almost giving me “permission”. Won’t be falling for that again! Keep strong, my friend! Red xx

      Like

      1. No it’s great. I laughed so hard and read it out loud to my mom! 😂 It also gave her a glimpse into this sober community which she thinks is amazing. When you said you made it through Christmas sober she said “awe that’s wonderful”. ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  4. “Less vomitty”- oh I do enjoy your posts! One of my friends also had a vomitty xmas, however we at the Betty household managed to keep our seafood buffet supper down. Well done on the sobriety and the mop up. Here’s to a happy, sober and not-at-all-puke-y New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh poor little Puke-lets, I mean Redlets. I have been extremely lucky over the years to avoid that, if anything it’s always me that gets sick and the daughter escapes. Hopefully things are looking up and they are improving. They’ll be starving and can be put to good use eating up all the food that you bought that is still leftover ha ha.
    You are doing great on day 45 and just shy of 1/2 way to the hundred. DON’T let anyone mess with you head on New Years including yourself, you are doing so well and seem to be really feeling the benefits of this sober lifestyle. Stay strong Red.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – yes they’ve been eating muchos chocolate over the last few days, as I’ve decided they bloody well need a treat. And the energy! The funniest thing was that my youngest son slept so peacefully through the pandemonium, even the bit when I was hauling his puking brother from the bunk beds. And it was him that passed the flippin virus on in the first place.. little darling.. Red xx

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m stunned into silence, all I’ve had is a dog with a stiff leg. Brilliantly done on the sober days though. New Year soon, new opportunities. Actually, I have always loathed New Year and other than getting pissed here at home, we have rarely felt the urge to go partying so I don’t think I’ll be tempted in the next few days. I’ll try and avoid blowing chunks though.

    Justonemore

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I’ll be too tempted – we’ve friends coming to stay who were once former partners of ours in much boozy crime, but they’ve dramatically calmed it down recently since taking up running and parenthood! Oh and I can be honest with them – which helps. Sorry to hear about the hound – I hope the dicky leg improves soon! Red xx

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Oh Red! I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry when I read this.. we are experiencing the same darn bug in our house, there has been a literal pukefest since the 23rd Dec. The good news is today is day 50 and I’ve not wavered once.. that’s got to be a pukey silver lining!! Enjoy your sober new year and stay well! xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Oh poor us!!! Although I shouldn’t complain, I’ve escaped so far. But been chief nurse and scraper ;-). I’ve not wavered either, doesn’t it feel amazing to feel strong, and proud of yourself?? I’m loving it. So many congrats on your half century 🙂 Red xx

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Happy New Year Red (and Justonemore since you have no blog of your own dammit) this time last year, you and I were just about to throw the towel in. I am safe as houses not going to drink tonight and I am hoping the same is true for you.
    I hope 2017 brings you health, wealth, happiness and joy (you too Justonemore) and I look forward to our continued success and a meet up sometime in the future. Hope the Reds had a lovely evening and are returned to fighting fit health already. Take care, big love. Ginger

    Liked by 3 people

  9. I hope you have stayed strong. Have gone to bed. I wasn’t going to be tempted anyway so thats the year for me – well 52 weeks today although coz its a leap year, its actually tomorrow date wise but I’ll be heading back to work on Monday, so tomorrow is pretty safe as well. Hope “17 is good for you both. Think I am going to stay on the wagon for now – one day at a time as usual.

    Justonemore

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Happy New Year, you guys!!! Am so glad to hear from you both! I was having a really good sober NYE until about 11pm – lots of fun. However I’ve sadly just seen the New Year in by hurling literally 5 mins before midnight, then running downstairs to wish Mr Red and our two lovely friends a happy new year, and then back up to be ill again. I’m lying “in state” now, feeling rough, but also immensely happy to be booze-free. It says something that I can see an upside to the current situation 😉 Let’s make 2017 a really bloody good one!!! And woah, Justonemore – your year – what an achievement!!! You should be really effing proud of yourself. We all should, methinks. I shall stop now as I fear I’m rambling and possibly delirious. All the best.. xx Red xx

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

